First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert O. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 *Room 228 Blatt Building*

Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee Tuesday, February 28, 2017 9:00am Blatt Room 108

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chairman Edward R. Tallon, Sr., on Tuesday, February 28, 2017, in Room 108 of the Blatt Building. The following members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Chairman Tallon, Representative Kathrine Arrington, Representative William M. Hixon, and Representative J. Todd Rutherford. Representative Gary E. Clary and Representative William "Bill" Clyburn also attended portions of the meeting.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Hixon made a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the prior Subcommittee meeting.

Rep. Hixon's motion to approve the minutes from the February 21, 2017 meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Arrington	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford	✓		
Rep. Tallon	~		

Discussion of the Department of Public Safety

- I. Chairman Tallon reminded individuals from the Department of Public Safety (DPS) who were sworn in during the previous meeting that they remained under oath. Chairman Tallon also swore in Ms. Regina, Crowley, IT Director for DPS.
- II. Chairman Tallon asked Director Leroy Smith and Colonel Michael Oliver about the agency's issuance of new guns and reprogramming trooper's radios. Members asked questions, which Director Smith and Colonel Oliver answered.
- III. Chairman Tallon swore in constituent Ms. Laura Hudson. Ms. Hudson provided testimony to the Subcommittee about grants administered by DPS. Members asked questions, which Ms. Hudson answered.

Director Leroy Smith and Mr. Pat Riley responded to Ms. Hudson's comments. Members asked questions, which Director Smith, Mr. Riley, and Mr. Paul Lewis answered.

- IV. Members asked questions about the information under the following topics in DPS' February 17, 2017 letter the Subcommittee:
 - a. Drug Testing; and
 - b. Laptops and Technology.

Director Smith, Colonel Oliver, Mr. Gene Matthews, Mr. Warren Ganjehsani, and Ms. Crowley responded to the questions.

V. Multiple motions related to the study of the Department of Public Safety were made throughout the meeting. The motions, and vote tallies, are included below.

Rep. Arrington's motion that the Subcommittee include a recommendation in the Subcommittee Study that DPS provide the House Legislative Oversight Committee an Excel document every thirty days which includes a list of the subgrantees that have and have not been paid until the Justice Program Grants have been completely transferred to another agency.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Arrington	\checkmark		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford			NP
Rep. Tallon	✓		

Rep. Arrington's motion that the Subcommittee include a recommendation in the Subcommittee Study that the administration of Highway Safety Grants remain with DPS, but the Justice Program Grants be moved to another state agency	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Arrington	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford			NP
Rep. Tallon	\checkmark		

VI. The meeting was adjourned.